why i no longer call myself a christian, and instead leave my relationship with Christ unlabled

*i don’t own the featured image

hello, readers! i hope you’re all doing well ❤ before any of you freak out about this post (because i know quite a few of you will get concerned), i’m still a Jesus follower. i’m just no longer placing my faith in a religion. i…i’ll explain in a second.

disclaimer: this post is not gonna be composed and clean and an easy read. this is a raw glimpse into my thoughts, almost like a journal entry. with that in mind, i would appreciate if you would enter into this post without judgement. i’m going to say some fairly controversial stuff that might hit you hard. i’m willing to discuss these topics in the comments, as long as it’s in a civil manner. if you post any hateful comments that are attacking anyone, i will delete those comments and potentially block you. i know we all have our political views that we feel very strongly about, but i’d request that for this you all just read without judgement.

i previously posted a shorter version of this on ydubs.


this post has been on my heart for far too long. but…i was scared to post it. hate had polluted my heart and i knew that if i posted this, i would be saying all of this out of a place of sin. not out of a place of love. i’m praying that Abba gives me the right words to say. goodness knows i need all the wisdom i can get.

friends, im so sick of seeing christians be hypocritical. im so sick of seeing them make fun of people who they don’t agree with, and justifying it as humor. im so sick of constantly feeling like as contemporary christians, we’ve forgotten that christianity is, at it’s very roots, about love.

i was oblivious to this until the covid pandemic began. the christian community started boycotting masks, and saying that they needed their freedom. they said they were protected by God, and not a mask. the amount of times i’ve seen christians be unwilling to do something as small as wear a mask, even if it’s to keep a high risk person safe is…. heartbreaking. i’ve seen friendships destroyed over a small piece of cloth. i’ve watched people essentially give the government the middle finger with mesh masks that do almost nothing. i’ve watched people care more about their rights than about showing love to others.

and it hurts. it feels like the christian community has forgotten what the root of our religion is. when i hear christian, i think of trump, american flags, boycotting masks and vaccines, and hurting people. it’s funny how something as simple as following Jesus has become polluted by sin. now, mind you, i’m not saying it’s sinful to be a trump supporter or to be anti mask (those are things you have to take up with God and figure out what He says about them), but i am saying that those things turn sinful so quickly. only a few years ago, it was the left that was considered “ungodly”, but now i feel like the right has become equal with the left. 

you say you’re mad about progressive christians taking verses out of context and saying that God accepts homosexual love, and yet you ignore the verses about obeying the government unless they’re requiring you to sin, and about loving your neighbors. i have so much i could say about this topic, but i’m not going to. because, if we’re being completely honest, it would be sinful for me to keep talking about this. you want to know why? because i struggle with judging conservative christians. and i don’t want a post about the hate in the christian community to become a post where i’m growing the hate in my heart.

i’m gonna be real for a second; i’ve been hurt countless times by christians who care more about politics and what they think is right, than about their relationship with Yahweh. they justify hateful practices as being “their rights”. they give people the wrong picture of christianity. i’ve been told that it was a sin for me to have anxiety, i’ve been told that it’s sinful that i struggle with being attracted to girls…. i’ve been told so many things. and i…would Jesus say those things? He looked at so many broken people who were condemned by society, and He called them by their names and not by their sin. He looked at them with love. He didn’t judge. He didn’t tell them what they were doing wrong. instead, He picked up their broken pieces, and called them to follow Him. 

so when did christianity lose that as it’s very heart?

as i get older, and as i see how much hurt that so called “christians” have caused, i long to separate myself from the label of christian. i don’t want to be associated with all the bad. maybe instead i’m just… a weary traveler who loves Jesus and is on her way to the celestial city. i don’t want people to see me, and go “oh…she’s a member of that group that really hurt me.” i want people to see me, and understand that i love Jesus. i have so many friends who get triggered by christianity, because they’ve been abused in the name of Jesus. 

the bible says that people will know that we are Jesus followers by our fruit. not by our politics. not by our insisting on our rights. not on our harassing others who disagree with us.

i’m not gonna keep rambling…i know that this post alone will potentially cause debates, but im just…i guess that my challenge for you guys is to…think about what picture of Christ you’re portraying for non christians. are you showing them that christianity is all about politics and my rights my rights? or are you showing them that christianity is about one man Who dared to die a humiliating death in public, for you?

edit: the quote “He called them by their names and not by their sin” was paraphrased from a jarrid wilson quote.

25 thoughts on “why i no longer call myself a christian, and instead leave my relationship with Christ unlabled

  1. I agree with what you’re feeling, but, the Apostle Paul taught we’re not to judge non-believers but instead we are to “correct” believers in a loving manner. But as the “church” we are to help others who may be struggling, are beginning to follow false teachings. It’s imperative now, that the church bands together and teaches from the bible. Our world is crazy right now and many who “claim” to be a “true” Christian really are not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hello, paloma. thank you for your comment. the thing is, i don’t believe that we’re saved by calling ourselves christians. a mere word says nothing about our relationship with Christ. it’s just a label.

    we’re saved by God’s grace alone. not by calling ourselves christians. and while yes, everyone’s responses to this post has given me a lot to think about (i realize now how brash it was to make such a bold statement), i still stand by my opinion that we’ve made the word “christian” into something that it’s not.

    thank you for your comment.

    Like

  3. aww i’m so glad that it resonated with you ❤ i'm so sorry about people telling you to pray harder. that's one of my huge pet peeves and just…. eugh, it's annoying. i'm glad you're still here ❤

    thank you for your sweet comment ❤

    Like

  4. *hugs* thank you for your comment, mia ❤ i completely understand what you said about being incredibly sensitive (i get hurt so easily *facepalm*) 😅

    it's completely okay that you didn't agree with everything; i personally think it's very healthy to be able to sift through articles and make your own opinions on topics ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dear Rue,

    Are you sure you want to give up such a sacred title that’s been around since the days of Paul the apostle all because you disagree with other brothers and sisters in Christ on sensitive issues? No offense, but I think that’s foolhardy to do. Your sister in Christ, TAURIEL WINGFATHER

    Like

  6. You don’t know me but I’ve been following you for a while, simply because I discovered we have similar ways of thinking. (:
    This post is amazing. The christian community has hurt Jesus with their hate and politics. I nearly killed myself two years ago. Not because I didn’t ask for help, but because I ASKED and was told to pray harder. To ask Jesus to heal me. Like I hadn’t begged him to. Thankfully, I came through it but not without horrible lasting damage that could have been averted, had I gotten help when I asked. And amazingly I came out with a stronger relationship with Jesus, but a lack of one with those who had hurt me with their so-called “christianity”.
    The first things people think about today when they hear the word christian or even Jesus is hate, intolerance, judgment, and harshness. Jesus was the opposite of these. He was the pure incarnation of love, the friend of sinners, and the merciful saviour. And in the time he lived in, he was a rebel.
    It seems to me that if the human form of Jesus came to the christians today, they would never recognize him. He would be chased out of our churches and accused of blasphemy.
    Sorry about the rant. Loved the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hmm….I’m not sure how I feel about this one. I understand everything you said and I’ve dealt with almost the exact same things, on varying levels of course. I’m still happy to identify myself as a Christian even though “Christian” has a bad name to it, the same way many Muslims identify as “Muslim” despite many people’s minds going to terrorism when they hear that term. I’m happy to call myself a Christian, because that term was created for people who love Jesus, who care for Him as He cares for us, and who want to grow away from their sins and towards Him.

    The problem with America and American Christians especially is how over-politicized everything is nowadays. We can’t say anything because we might hurt someone. Our world is so very sensitive. And I say this as an incredibly sensitive person. I get hurt a lot. I dwell on it a lot. But that doesn’t keep me from thinking that everyone, including myself, needs to grow up and grow a thicker skin. (Okay, weird terminology, but you know what I meant.) America was a “Christian nation” for a very long time. Many Americans just assume that, because they’re American, they have a “Get into Heaven free” card. They call themselves Christians because they were raised to believe that they were. And it all comes down to what they were taught, what they saw and heard, what they came to believe.

    Some people distance themselves from Christianity because they see Christians as hypocrites. Some people like to call themselves Christians because they think that saying the words is enough. And some people are real, good, honest Christians, who still mess up, but own up to their mistakes and use them to grow.

    Anyways, those are my thoughts. This post was very introspective and I enjoyed reading it. I didn’t agree with everything, but it was still well done and thought-provoking.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. *hugs* thank you, lily ❤ that…. i fully agree with that. i should have probably given a less misleading title 😅

    come soon indeed, Abba ❤

    Like

  9. This is beautiful, Rue. I loved a lot of what you said here. There are a lot of fake Christians out there, and it’s heartbreaking.

    I will say that your title is misleading. Just because you disagree with the hate caused by other Christians (which, it’s completely right and good to disagree with that, I’m with you here), doesn’t mean you’re no longer a Christian. The people you’re talking about are either not Christians (not saved by Christ) or are Christians who are not strong believers and/or have lost their sense of direction. Being a Christian is a name that some people take wrongly. It doesn’t mean you should deny that name.

    Again, I agree with all of what you said, and it needs to be heard and needs to be shared. The only thing I would say is that being a Jesus-follower is the same as being a Christian. It’s only a label if people take it wrongly. And people will take our religion wrongly wherever we go because this world is broken.

    Thank you, Rue. Amen. Come soon, Lord Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you so much for sharing! I know it definitely takes a lot of courage to share something “controversial” like this. While there’s a bit I could say about this from a personal standpoint, I respect your opinion and I think you make a lot of a lot of valid points here. It’s given me a lot to think about, for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. wow rue, this was a lovely post 💛 i’m not gonna go into anything about whether i disagree or fully agree with this post because i really just want to say that i admire your passion and courage. i know it wasn’t easy to post something that could potentially spark a LOT of things… but you did and that is very admirable, rue 💛 (also, i feel like both sides have taken things too far in respects of a lot of things and it’s honestly really sad to see… You can be a follower of Christ no matter what side of the political isle you stand on.)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. hi, madi! thank you for being respectful in your comment ❤ i completely respect your point on view on this. i'm sorry if i made it seem like being on one side makes someone a christian.

    i'm so sorry that people have been rude to you for your political views…. nobody should be treated like that.

    thank you for your comment, madi! *hugs* ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m not trying to negate your thoughts and feelings, as I can tell they come from the deepest, rawest parts of your heart, and I respect that, but I would like to briefly address this post from the “opposite” side. I’m not here to debate, and if any other comments crop up in argument to mine, I won’t return and answer because I know you don’t want your blog to be turned into a debate forum, but I merely to point some things out.

    I disagree with the statement that Christianity is, at its core, love. Yes, we are called to love one another, and Christ showed tremendous love through His sacrifice, but the core of Christianity is truth. God’s truth. Spreading the truth. Being lights to a dark world (which, yes, that does include love, but it is so much more than that).

    I am so sorry you’ve lost friendships. That’s so painful and it should not have happened. However, those of us who believe (myself most certainly included)–based on our heartfelt study of Scripture–that wearing masks and promoting such “safety” measures are unBiblical and are lies and harmful, have also lost friends. We’ve been called names, lost our jobs, our lives have been threatened (by friends, family, coworkers, and the government), and for no other reason than disagreeing. This issue, this horrendous problem, goes both ways.

    Those of us who believe opposite of masks and vaccine mandates can still be Christian. We still want to honor God, which is why we hold the stance we do. We truly believe, based on our study of Scripture, that we are to follow God before men. Those who disagree with me and wear masks and get the jab can be Christian. We can disagree on this and still be fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. Both sides have taken it too far. Being on one particular side doesn’t make one a Christian, nor does it remove the salvation of that person on the other side.

    Liked by 7 people

  14. PREACH IT, sister!!! I LOVE how you spoke out about this so truthfully and passionately. SO many Christians have become mean and overly zealous over stupid things (the left has too, not just singling out the right here) and it has distorted the view of what Christianity was supposed to be…loving others no matter what.
    And girl, it is NOT sinful for you to he attracted to other girls. I do not care WHO tells you so. It is only wrong when you start lusting and acting on it. But it is NOT wrong to be attracted and don’t feel like you’re a worthless sinner damned to hell just because of that.
    Thank you again for writing this. Loved, LOVED it.
    P.S. we all mess up. You’re not alone in your battles you fight. Love ya girl. 😉❤

    Liked by 2 people

  15. I totally agree with that! These are such great thoughts. I do wish that being labeled as Christian didn’t feel like a bad thing and… well yeah, I can’t really say it better than you can, so yes. Yes to all of that.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment