What They Don’t Tell You About Grief

Please keep in mind that this might not be the most…organized and sensical post. My brain’s a bit muddled, and I’m processing recent events as I write this. 

While we were opening presents on Christmas day, we reached the 24 hour anniversary of my Nana’s death. 24 hours

How was that even possible?

As I’m writing this, it’s been four days since her death. Five days since we got the dreaded phone call, telling us that she had been rushed to the hospital. 

I’ve lived my whole life in fear of recieving a phone call like that. For the past few years, everytime my mom’s phone rang, I would worry that someone would be on the other end saying that some horrible event had occurred. 

And five days ago, that fear came true.

It’s only been a few days, but it feels like an eternity since all that happened; since my dad assured me that everything would be fine, since I saw my mom cry in a way I’ve never seen, since I promised the Lord that if He spared my Nana that I would spend more time with her, since my dad started showing signs of worry.

I’ve experienced grief before, but never like this. I’ve never known the excruciating pain of losing someone close to you.

I’ve grown up reading books with protagonists who are grieving. I’ve held my friend’s hands while they lost various loved ones. I’ve even been to a funeral or two. But none of those prepared me for this.

I always thought grief felt like sadness. But now I know that it feels much more like boredom, like emptiness, like…grief. The word grief describes the feeling far better than any other words ever could.

In books, grief always leads characters onto magical journeys. It always has a certain…whimsy to it. But, friends, grief isn’t whimsical. It isn’t fun. It isn’t dramatic. 

Grief sucks.

My Nana was a huge fan of my blog when she was alive. She would always read my newest posts and tell me how much she liked them. She….I keep thinking that she’s gonna read this post, and that…that’s really hard.

I’m trying to believe that God is good, but it’s so hard. This whole thing hurts.

I miss you, Nana.

22 thoughts on “What They Don’t Tell You About Grief

  1. Hi Rue. I’m so sorry to hear about your Nana (and I just read your previous recap post for 2022). I’m so sorry this has been a rough year for you. Please know that you’re in my prayers *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I learned that I never really experienced grief until my husband died, and even though he was ill for the last five years of his life, I wasn’t in the least prepared for his death. You are absolutely right. Grief sucks, and there’s no getting around it; you just have to go through it. Tell stories about your Nana to anyone who will listen. And know it gets better with time. You’ll never stop grieving; it just gets easier to grieve.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Rue, I’m so sorry about what happened and that it happened around what is supposed to be such a joyful time of the year. I also experienced the loss of a really close family member around two months ago and reading this post made me feel for the first time that someone else understands how I’m feeling. Grief really does suck and randomly decides to hit you even harder than usual but I’ve found it’s nice to talk about happy memories you have with that person and laugh about them with other people who knew the person well too. Once again I’m so sorry for your loss and that you’re grieving at a time when everyone else is celebrating; it’s not fun. Lots of love ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss, Rue. I hope you and your family are being supported. I lost my dad in early 2021, so I know how it feels when someone close to you passes away. Just remember that everyone experiences a loss differently and that there’s no “wrong” way to grief. Don’t feel bad if you don’t feel certain emotions that others are experiencing. I hope you and your family are doing okay; I’m here if you need to talk ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry for your loss and I’m praying that you feel better. ❤ part of my mission with my books is to include grief as a plot point that isn’t glossed over and romanticized, but is rather real and sincere.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know saying sorry and all those things don’t really help, but I just want to say that I’ve gone through what you’re going through. My grandpa passed away unexpectedly four years ago. He was honestly my hero, and losing him felt like my world had ended.

    I know this also sounds so cliche and unrealistic, but I can honestly say that God used my grandpa’s loss to bring me close to Himself, to realize the truth of the gospel message I’d heard all my life, to begin loving and devoting myself to Him in a way that I didn’t when my grandpa was alive. I don’t really have advice, or words of comfort, or quick remedies. Just know that it *will* get better over time. I used to hate it when people said things like that, because it felt like betraying my grandpa by not grieving every second. But it’s true. I’ve had to accept that it’s true. Time really does lessen the sting, and clear your tear sore eyes to recognize God’s hand, His purpose in the pain. Just know that I will be praying, Rue ❤

    "Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope. For we believe that Jesus died and rose again, and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him."
    1 Thessalonians 4: 13-14

    "Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds through Christ. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort." 2 Corinthians 1: 3-7

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment