5 Habits You Need To Implement Into Your Life

Over the last few years, I’ve learned just how important habits are. When used for good, they can be so powerful and life changing. But when used for bad, well, they can become dangerous. Bad habits (ie: swearing, staying up late, etc) are easier to develop than good habits (ie: waking up early, reading your bible regularly, etc), and are also harder to break than good habits. It’s so easy to break a rhythm that’s for your good. It’s much harder to break a bad habit. Trust me, I’ve learned this the hard way. Currently trying to break my cussing habit, and it’s harder than it seems. I’m also trying to develop a habit of waking up early to spend time with God, and let me tell you, that’s been almost impossible.

That being said, here’s a list of 5 habits I’m trying to implement into my life. I hope you guys find these helpful. ๐Ÿ’› Please remember to start slow, and be kind to yourself when you mess up, because I can guarantee you, you will mess up. You’re only human, not a superhero. It’s okay if you mess up. Just remember to get back up again after messing up, k? Every day is a fresh start. ๐Ÿ’›

Putting a Glass of Water Next to Your Bed

Friends, your body needs this so badly. Especially if you’re the sort of person who forgets to drink water throughout the day. It’s so important to start your day with a few sips of water (please don’t chug the water, that will only upset your stomach). Plus, keeping a glass of water next to my bed helps me to remember to drink water throughout the day. Whatever I don’t drink in the early morning, I try to drink later in the day.

Adding lemon juice, fruit, or even a little bit of sugar can also help motivate you to drink more. Just don’t leave flavored water out for longer than 4 hours ๐Ÿ˜‰

Making Your Bed First Thing in the Morning

Due to my health issues, making my bed when I first wake up isn’t always the easiest thing, but I’ve found that it can be so helpful for getting my mind into the right mindset after I wake up. Obviously, I wouldn’t recommend this if it’s too much for you physically– as my health has gotten worse over the last few months, I’ve learned just how exhausting even simple tasks like making your bed can be.

If you can make your bed though, please do it. ๐Ÿ’›

Reading the Bible at Least Once a Day

I’ve found that reading my bible, especially in the early morning, is so helpful for my soul. When I leave my room, I’m immediately hit with a thousand different worldviews, and it’s so hard to discern which ones are God-honoring and which aren’t, especially if I haven’t spent time in God’s Word first.

I also like to, when I have the energy, read a few Psalms right before bed. This is especially good if I haven’t gotten in any time with the Lord earlier in the day. Plus, it helps set my mind on all that is true, lovely, and pure (Philippians 4:8-9). Something about the Psalms soothes my intrusive thoughts– not perfectly, but just enough that I can fall back asleep.

Cleaning Your Roomย Daily

Iโ€™ve always had a tendency to have a messy room. When I was about 12-ish, my room was so bad that I couldnโ€™t see the floor ๐Ÿ˜‚ I canโ€™t find a photo of my room at itโ€™s worst, but I did find this photo that shows just how bad it was at itsโ€™ best ๐Ÿ˜‚ 

Anyways though, the point of that highly disturbing example *shudders* is to show that cleaning your room is extremely important. Whenever my room gets messy like that (usually when Iโ€™m depressed), my brain feels super messy and foggy and confused. Keeping my room clean helps my brain to feel better, and also helps keep me productive and motivated (: Let me know in the comments if you guys want a room tour (I promise my room is a lot prettier now than it was when I was in middle school ๐Ÿ˜‚)

Working Out at Least Once a Week

This is definitely harder, especially if you have a chronic or mental illness, or are neurodivergent. Finding energy to workout is really hard for me (due to low executive functioning and very low energy), but I always feel so much better when I make the time to. Even sometimes just a short walk with Sushi counts as a workout– I like to double these as prayer walks when my attention span is feeling up for that.

My personal favorite workout YouTuber is Callie Jardine (:

Thank you so so much for reading this post, friends! ๐Ÿ’› I’m incredibly thankful to have you guys reading my posts– it always makes me smile (: I hope you were able to find some good inspiration for living a healthier lifestyle.

Friendly reminder that it’s okay if you have days (or even weeks) where you can’t maintain any healthy habits. I completely get it. Please be gentle with yourself. ๐Ÿ’›


If you enjoyed this post, please consider giving it a like, a comment, and follow me for similar content! Ily all so much ๐Ÿ’›

What habits are you working on making a part of your routine? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “5 Habits You Need To Implement Into Your Life

Leave a comment